45 minutes of…

Working out and dieting go hand in hand. When I workout with Terry I really try to observe what he has me do during a session. I assess how long he has me do the treadmill and what he has me repeat. I wonder how many calories are actually burned when I do various things, for instance when I use the treadmill or take a yoga class. I am also constantly trying to figure out the best way to make sure I eat properly and how often.  I found this  article, courtesy of prevention.com. The chart below displays how many calories are burned during various exercise versus eating those calories in various foods.

Remember:

Eat Every 3 to 4 Hours

Giving your body a steady supply of calories keeps blood sugar normal during and after exercise, and it can prevent an excessively high insulin response the next time you eat that encourages excess body fat. To avoid taking in extra calories because you’re eating more often, keep meals to 500 calories or less and snacks under 200, limiting total calories to about 1,600 to 1,800 a day.

Have Protein at Every Meal

Protein increases satiety and helps keep your appetite under control by stimulating gut hormones that help you feel full. Options include eggs, milk, soy milk, yogurt, and oatmeal for breakfast. Include nuts, beans, whole grains, lowfat dairy, fish, lean meats, and poultry at other meals and snacks to ensure you get enough protein.

Leave a Reply

