Baby Steps

Hi all,

So my week pretty much consists of trying to get better in all ways I can think of.

Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I work my butt off with my Physical Therapist Kirsten. On those days I usually feel like I got beat up for a while afterwards, so when I get home I relax eat lunch and think about life and my day and what I might be able to plan to do for another physical therapy session at home on my own.

On the days I do not work with Kirsten I am working my foot all day long. I practice walking with the crutches using weight on my foot. I also do laps using the crutches without putting weight on my foot. While I sit down I do leg stretches pulling my knee in and holding my leg out straight while I tightly squeeze in my leg muscle to hold it up and then release to put my foot down with some weight and texture of the floor.

For those who have had a broken limb you know that when doing physical therapy you push through the pain and keep going. Physical therapy for treating RSD is significantly different. A big part of my condition is sensitivity to touch. Part of my therapy is getting used to different kinds of textures, pressures, and temperatures. It sounds crazy but one of the things I do regularly is use a paint brush. I brush my foot from heel to toes then just on the toes then on top. The crazy part of it is that this is unpleasant rather than the normal feeling, (which I try out on my good foot) which is tickling.

Another big part of therapy is working on the mobility of my toes and ankles. Constantly I point and flex my toes while I try to push my feet away from me and towards me as much as possible. I also use my hands as compression and hold my foot and touch my toes and rub. I am also working on putting a regular sock on my foot and a regular sneaker (all of this hurts so much). I am still rocking a tube sock and surgical slipper and on my good foot a sneaker.

As I have titled this entry, controlling my RSD is all about baby steps. But they are truly teaching me to appreciate the little things more. Yesterday I actually got my foot in a sock and, sat it in my sneaker for 6 minutes! It is so amazing how big that is, but it is huge as I haven’t been able to walk, let alone wear a regular shoe in 3 whole months, it hurt so badly- but I did it!!

Also I have been able to put more weight on my foot and I have improved my balance. I also sometimes have more manageable pain than other times.

I am also learning to look for ways of healing in any way possible. I have hired a healer who does meditation and Reiki, and it truly relaxes me. I am also reading a book called “You can heal your life” by Louise J. Hay. In addition, I am speaking to a therapist who surprisingly has RSD herself. I feel in trying to work on myself completely can only be helpful towards my health.

If that wasn’t enough I am taking Lyrica, Allegra, and Aleve, and a sleeping pill. Thanks to my father’s research and being, I am on an all day vitamin regimen. I take two Acidophilis supplements 3 times a day, Fish Oil supplement one 3 times a day, B-12 two 3 times a day, Vitamin C one 3 times a day, Magnesium one 2 times a day, Glucosamine one two times a day, and a multi vitamin one twice a day. These vitamins are not bad to take on a regular basis, obviously when I get over this flare-up I will continue but probably will lessen the amount of pills.

RSD has changed my life, today and forever…

3 thoughts on “Baby Steps

Leave a Reply

