Decisions

Hi again,

So today I had a physical therapy session with Kirsten and then had a difficult appointment with my Pain Management Doctor. As I know my therapy is all about baby steps… my doctor was not overly encouraged about my progress. He said he sees I still have RSD and did not like that I’m still swollen, that he would have thought that since it was caught early that I would be more improved. Sadly he said I’m not “out of the woods” yet.

The doctor suggests I get another nerve block but this time in the ankle so that it is strictly in the foot! I prayed to god to not get another nerve block and god to put 3 needles directly into where I already have a lot of pain- is the last thing I want to do! I am not yet sure I want to put myself through anymore additional pain!

I also discussed with the doctor changing my medication. I am going to try lowering my lyrica and combining with cymbalta, as it is supposed to relieve that pain and hopefully my sensitivity, and will hopefully also prevent weight gain.

I really don’t know what is the right thing to do?! If I get another nerve block will I need to get more, will it derail my physical therapy? I don’t know, its supposed to make my foot numb for 24hours but I really don’t know how I’ll respond. I really thought I would have had a better doctor appointment than I did- needless to say I’m pretty disappointed. So, do I make the decision of giving ANOTHER nerve block a go- I don’t know, I guess I’ll sleep on it tonight.

Leave a Reply

