Child Life

Hey all,

Today in the hospital I worked with a couple of kids. I spent time with a great five year old boy for a while. Two of the kids I spent a lot of time with are developmentally delayed and so sweet! I love working with all of the precious kids but I have to say when it comes to communicating with these developmentally kids it takes me to another level. It is truly something special. They are frequently non-verbal and we find alternative ways to communicate. The infant was gripping my hand and copying the movements I made with my lips, she was adorable :0)! I also spent time with a precious two-year old boy. He was holding my hand and gripping each finger as I spoke to him.  As he held my fingers I went through each of them and pointed them out by name. When I had to go, it felt like he didn’t want me to leave. Every child is special in their own wonderful way. It is so important to me that I show these children that they matter. Every child needs to know they matter, that they are strong, and they are loved.

Another great day in the hospital 🙂

~Grateful

 

Leave a Reply

