The Joy of Making a Difference

Hello all,

As I have mentioned last post I have continued volunteering in the child life program at the hospital. I have been working in the Pediatric Intensive Care unit for almost a year and the General Pediatric unit for 7months. I have been able to help so many children and several of them have found a special place in my heart.

Last month I met an awesome 10 year old girl. She was expressive and creative and incredibly strong. She blew me away. While in the hospital she wrote and illustrated a book about Cancer. It was so beautiful, powerful, and inspiring.

A few days ago I saw a patient who was in the hospital a couple of months ago. This is a precious little girl and her mother who I formed a bond with last visit so they were and I was happy to see them. They were saying how happy they were that I’m there. It felt so great. I remembered from last time how creative she was and how much she loved to paint and design. When I took her to the playroom I set her up with a painting station. She said she had a surprise not to look. When she was finished she handed me a painting that said I love you! I was so touched!

Another adorable little girl who was a sibling of a little boy who was the patient joined. A moment later a little boy wanted to paint as well. Before I knew it I was running a little art class.  It was a fun eventful hour and change of working with multiple children at once. It didn’t phase me, they were adorable 🙂

When it was time to close the playroom two of the kids’ parents came to retrieve them and I  took the other peanut back to her room. About a half hour after cleaning up the playroom, I went to see all the kids in their rooms. When I went to see how my little friend who made the painting for me was doing she gave me another picture that says I love you and made me one of those rainbow loom bracelets. So sweet, I couldn’t believe it.

 

It is such a joy to help make a difference for these families!

 

 

Leave a Reply

