Child Life Practicum

Hello Friends,

So this will be week 6 in FL for my child life practicum. I am in an infant toddler program working with the children in the PICU, IMCU, CVCU. The patients come from all over the hospital. I have the opportunity to see my supervisor in action introducing services, providing support, charting, planning calendar activities, easing anxiety during a PICC line, bereavement support. I am planning and implementing therapeutic play activities, providing comfort and distraction to patients, applying developmental theory, writing a case study, and creating a special project for the population. My supervisor says, this practicum will prepare me for the internship. This is so exciting! In the past weeks I made good luck banners to celebrate children who went home. I made a volcano with a patient. It was such a wonderful experience, the patient really enjoyed himself. He was thirteen but developmentally between ten and eleven years. The patient expressed the need for company. It was so great to be there for him. One of my supervisor’s responsibilities is planning all of the events during the week. I have helped host and recruited patients to come to the activities. I used one of my therapeutic play activities of making play dough with a patient. This past week I spent time with a precious 9month old girl who I have decided to do my case study on. I had the opportunity to plan and host ice breakers and self-esteem activities for an off-site cranio facial symposium for children ages 6-12. I also got to assist a 9 year old patient, as she walked 2 laps around the unit. I drove her pole close behind as I cheered her on along with a nurse and a child life supervisor. This weekend I completed my special project, which I will be showing my supervisor this week. I plan to try it out with my 9month old patient. We’ll see how it goes 🙂 I am trying to absorb as much as I can as this is truly a whirlwind that I am so excited to embark upon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

